The Hkrs Do 12 of 12

Today was Sunday the 12th. I don’t know if you folks have ever heard of the 12 of 12 that was started by Chad Darnell. The concept is simple take 12 pictures on the 12 of the month. It is a way to keep track of your life, and the 12th was picked because it is generally an arbitrary date (no holidays in the US).

We have tried this before but dropped the ball many times. Today was different though, we took pictures all day. I have whittled them down to the following.

The time I actually woke up today.

The time I actually woke up today.

Yes believe it or not I woke up and rolled over after sleeping and this was the time. I grabbed my phone and snapped a photo.

Took my daugter out plinking

Took my daugter out plinking

It is tough sometimes for a father to hang out with his daughter when she gets older. For some reason my daughter wanted to go shooting. Who am I to say no. Off I went and we plinked for a few hours. She and her boyfriend had fun.

I come home and my son reads me a story.

I come home and my son reads me a story.

The Littlest_Hkr loves to read. He just started doing it about a year ago. Now he devours books. Who am I to complain. He read me a book.

I worked on a Geocaching Puzzle

I worked on a Geocaching Puzzle

Before lunch I had a little time and worked on a Geocaching puzzle. Once I realized what was needed to solve it I went to work and completed it.

Loaded up some Caches

Loaded up some Caches

Yes you are looking at old technology you IPod listening youth. This is an old Palm I705 I have had for four years now. It has served me very well. Only a $25 dollar investment and it has helped me log and keep track of over 1000 finds in that time.

Tough Ground Conditions

Tough Ground Conditions

On the mesas around Flagstaff the ground is a bit rough to say the least. This is typically some of the patches you run across up here in the highlands. Bring some good boots.

A Lake on a Mesa

A Lake on a Mesa

This is called a lake but it is much more like a marsh. There were ducks on the water in the middle and grass growing around the edges. Water is an amazing thing in AZ, there just never is enough.

We used the AZ Trail

We used the AZ Trail

We used a portion of the AZ Trail to try and find the puzzle cache I thought I solved. A trail we want to work on some day. From Mexico to Utah or vice versa.

A Habitate Crossing

A Habitate Crossing

You find these all over the Coconino National Forest. They are ways for animals to get around fence lines. Elk jump over, Pronghorn Antelope crawl under (they are poor jumpers). We do both.

Do you see the geocache?

Do you see the geocache?

You have to be kidding. No we aren’t. The cache is hidden on the bouy that you barely see in Upper Lake Mary. I didn’t bring anything to swim in so we will have to come back. 0 for 2 on the geocaching today.

That's right $2.72 a gallon

That's right $2.72 a gallon

Living in Flagstaff isn’t cheap. Everything has to be trucked in, up hill to 7000′. That costs money and we pay for it everyday. People aren’t kidding when they say Flagstaff, AZ is poverty with a view.

Chuckrosie

Chuckrosie

We came back home during a rain and played with Rosie. She is the newest addition to the Hkr family. She is so quick she blurs. She is as fast as lightening.

Well that was our day in 12 pictures. We hope you enjoyed our 12 of 12. Maybe we can remember to do it again in August. Time will only tell.

Until next time,

The Flag_Mtn_Hkrs
Just Cache It ! !

2 responses to this post.

  1. Ouch – I’d never have stopped to think of there being higher costs due to the altitude!

    Sorry I’m so late in commenting – crazy busy at work!

    Helen (Dogeared)

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jennifer on March 11, 2010 at 17:21

    Any suggestions to go for plinking around Flag? We’ll be in town next weekend and would love to get in some shooting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

