A nice day

This morning I saw a FTF pop up on the computer, I thought that maybe we could score another FTF. It was the dogtown (GC11JBY) cache just south of Williams, AZ at Dogtown Lake. After some breakfast and a little Sesame Street we were out the door and on our way. The cache was located about 27.5 miles as the crow flies from the homestead. After a short little drive we were out and walking. We saw a Great Blue Heron on the way to the cache. The cache was intact and we logged in at 10:42.

After some rock throwing and the discovery of a crawdad claw we were back in the potbellied pig and headed for home. I remembered seeing a local cache and decided we would stop and grab that one before lunch. We parked at the Observatory, as it is on Observatory Mesa, and started walking. The cache was only about .6 of a mile from the parking lot so it would be a quick out and back. The Littlest_Hkr played line leader and we eventually made it to the cache. The cache was Emerald Isle (GC11GPJ) and commemorated St. Patties day. The only green I had to trade was a Flag_Mtn_Hkrs coin and of course the trusty green log pen. I left the ink and the coin but kept the pen, I do like it so. We logged it at 12:19 making it #525 and the last geocache of the day for us.

On the way home I thought I would get the coordinates for the Museum Club (WM1B15) and see if I could put it up on Waymarking.com. I have added a few of these in the past and thought that there must be a Route 66 waymark. I took the coordinates and while the Littlest_Hkr took a nap logged it. It was approved. Now tourists with waymarking information can find it.

Leave a Reply

